Being an awkward penguin and generally avoiding human interaction/awkwardness, I hate talking on the phone. For me, it's just so awkward that it makes talking in person not so bad.
I tend to get so nervous that I mumble and talk in a monotone voice, and it's just awkward and painful for everyone involved.
Since phone calls are so mentally taxing for me,I don't pick up my phone the first time someone calls unless it's a relative or close friend. I just can't do it. I'm not mentally and emotionally prepared.
I have to take a few minutes to gather myself and prepare topics of conversation before I call the other person back. I also have to take a few extra minutes so that person would think I was actually doing something important that prevented me from taking the call the first time rather than know what I was really doing, trying to calm myself down and reign in the awkwardness before calling back.
I shouldn't be allowed to use communication devices.













